Wednesday, July 09, 2008

G8 +8

Although the agenda of the G8 is global in scope its representation is not. The group consists of the USA, the UK, Germany France, Italy, Canada, Japan, and Russia. Europe and North America are heavily represented. Asia does not have adequate representation. Africa, Australia, and South America are not represented at all. In the emerging new world order, these meetings might be expanded to include another group of eight nations, that we may call the +8 Group, to include countries like China, India, Brazil, Australia, Indonesia, Turkey, Saudi Arabia, and South Africa. Since the meetings are usually a two-day affair, the first day might be allocated for each group of eight to meet separately and prepare for the second day when all sixteen could sit together at the same table to formulate global strategy in a more global setting.

Cha-am Jamal

No comments: